Thornhill Community Hall / 21st June 2023 at 7:30 pm 

Present: Michelle Flynn (MF) Stirling Council, Elaine Blanchard (EB), Alison Newlands (AN) Minute Taker, Andy Greig (AG), Hector Muir (HM), Sheen Stewart (SS), Moira Russell (MR), Gary Thomson (GT), Campbell Millar, Rowena Coulthard (RC)

Apologies: Al Rawlinson (AR)

Michelle Flynn from Stirling Council chaired the Inaugural Meeting and welcomed everyone.

2. Community Council Induction

MF advised the meeting that following the close of nominations for the Community Council elections on Wednesday 7th June 2023, sufficient valid nominations were received for the Thornhill and Blair Drummond Community Council.  The following candidates were elected:

Elaine Blanchard 

Rowena Coulthard 

Andy Greig 

Hector Muir

Alastair Rawlinson 

Moira Russell 

Gary Thomson

MF added the TBCC has elected 7 candidates and has the capacity to elect up to 9 people.  The elected candidates will hold office for a period of 4 years, with the next election being held in 2027.

Additional information on induction to the Community Council was circulated at the end of the meeting.

3. Appointment of Office Bearers

MF advised that the new Thornhill and Blair Drummond Community Council was now required to appointment their office bearers and must have at a minimum a Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.

Nominations for appointment of Chair

Hector Muir

Proposed – Elaine Blanchard Seconded – Andy Greig

No objections Hector Muir elected as Chair.

Nominations for appointment of Secretary

Elaine Blanchard

Proposed – Rowena Coulthard Seconded – Andy Greig

No objections Elaine Blanchard elected as Secretary.

Nominations for appointment of Treasurer

Gary Thomson

Proposed – Rowena Coulthard Seconded – Hector Muir

No objections Gary Thomson elected as Treasurer.

Nominations for appointment of Vice Chair

Andy Greig

Proposed – Gary Thomson Seconded – Hector Muir

No objections Andy Greig elected as Vice Chair.

Nominations for Planning/Licensing Correspondent

Alastair Rawlinson

Proposed – Moira Russell Seconded – Elaine Blanchard

No objections Alastair Rawlinson confirmed as Planning/Licensing Correspondent.

4. Signing of the Constitution and Standing Orders

MF asked the Chair HM and Secretary EB to sign the constitution and standing orders.  Once signed a copy was given to the Chair.

5. Meeting Calendar

The following meetings have been confirmed for 2023/24

Tuesday 22nd  August       2023

Tuesday 26th  September 2023 

Tuesday 7th    November  2023 

Tuesday 12th  December  2023 

Tuesday 23rd  January       2024

Tuesday 5th    March         2024

Tuesday 23rd  April            2024 

Tuesday 4th    June             2024  AGM

6. Useful links for:

– Scheme of Establishment

– Member Booklet

– Area Profile

– Community Council Enquiry Process

MF outlined the above useful documents available to the Community Council, highlighting the main document as the scheme of establishment.

MF also advised on the enquiry process and main contact of Stephen Bly for raising any questions or queries.

7.  Document Handover and Brief Explanation

– Inaugural Additional Notes

– Administration Grant

– Community Council Enquiry

MF handed over documents on above topics to the EB.

8. Handover to duly elected Chairperson

Formal meeting concluded and handed over to HM.

Meeting closed 20:00.